First experiences with Internet Identity and Staking

Hi guys,

I’m fairly new to IC and I see tremendous potential.
I lack the technical skills to help develop the ecosystem but I do work in product management so I thought I’d contribute my own way.

Below are the topics that I struggled with as a newcomer:

NNS and Internet Identity

I saw in a tweet by a random community member that wording should be improved while creating an internet identity, so as to be understandable by the masses. Can’t find the tweet but the actual feedback was “get rid of the jargon please” and I have to say I had the same first impression when signing up for the first time.

“Internet Identity” : ok, that must be some sort of account
“Passkey”: ok, that must be some sort of password

Up to this point I didn’t feel too lost. But when clicking “Create Passkey” opened a prompt to choose a device, that felt frightening. I think there should be more emphasis on why we are being asked to choose a device. Here’s how I would phrase it in simple terms: “Instead of choosing a password yourself, choose one of your devices which will generate a very secure one for you (passkey). But be careful, you’ll need that device to log in again later or add other devices to log in with.”

And for what it’s worth, once you get the hang of it, logging in like this is awesome UX !

Neurons and staking

This is still very obscure to me and I’m sure to other newcomers as well.

Here’s what I’m used to: I choose a staking period which locks my tokens and gives me rewards.

Here’s what I’m presented with:

Stake Neurons

First of all, “Stake Neurons” :thinking: I usually stake tokens, so I was expecting “Stake ICP”. I can understand that staked tokens form a neuron, but… I’m probably overthinking it, I’ll just click the button.

The first step is choosing the amount. Pretty straight forward. Let’s keep going.

Next step is this:

Small UX feedbacks:

• Min and Max buttons are not very obvious