Why are NNS entry requirements so high?

So I’ve just loaded some ICP (and by some I mean a fraction of a token) and I tried to stake a neuron, and I was met with the lovely error message of min 1 ICP. Now currently I can’t afford a full token but I’d still like to be able to participate in governance. I’m no expert on consensus or governance algorithms, but there have been other chains (in specific Terra) that allow users to vote even with fractions of tokens, why isn’t this possible on the IC?

EDIT: I know what’s considered “high” is subjective, but in my opinion I believe that accessibility is a priority

3 Likes

Limit of 1 ICP? That doesn’t sound good. At the moment price of ICP is around 400$, which is already a high barrier to entry. Imagine the price shooting up even further (which is the hope). That would make the entry barrier even higher, and would be counterproductive for the platform governance as a whole, giving more power to the wealthy people who can afford purchasing whole ICP’s.

1 Like

Hi , I’m not a developer , I wanted to know if anyone knows how I can get the NNS application . I did generate the principal identifier and the private key on the terminal . After that I’m confused and I don’t know what to do . Any help to clarify is appreciated

not the right thread, mate. Might wanna start your own topic if you’re having trouble :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have a problem with NNS. I transferred ICP to my account on NNS. Transaction came there okay. After that I tried to stake my ICP. Staking process somehow did not go through (I did not get to choose the locking period). Now my account balance is almost zero and I see nothing on Neurons page. I checked the transactions from my account in explorer and there was this staking transaction but now I can’t see my ICP anywhere.

I submitted a ticket few hours ago and also, some guys on Reddit complained they had the same problem.