Hello World from Paris

Hello World ! / Bonjour !

I’m an early community member from 2018, but first time posting in the forum !

First, i’d like to know if there are any French members around, french channels or meetup clubs to be join? If not, maybe we should start one :wink:

I wouldn’t call myself a developer as i have a very basic level of coding in Python. But as i’m going through the Courses over the ICP association website, Moritz pointed me to the SDK examples as the courses seems to be for more experienced Motoko users.
Starting from scratch, where should i go first?

My day job is Librarian, i’ve been at it for the past 17 years, and i’m now in charge of our 6 libraries network database. We use a Library management software whose DB are hosted in servers such as OVH and so are completely dependant on AWS. That’s the 1st issue. When those services are down, or when those OVH servers burned 2 months ago : we can’t work.
At All. I Can’t lend documents, can’t send requests…the usual sh*t show

The 2nd issue i bump into, is the main one (i’m gonna try to explain it the best i can with my poor english)
When i receive a new CD or book at the library, i have to register that document into our database. There are multiple fields i have to fill: EAN, ISBN, number of pages, number of tracks, their artists IDs such as name, surname etc, also their functions: is she a writer? a director? an actor? does she play violin? piano? Sometimes i fill all the fields by myself, sometimes i import the document ID with some fields already filled by my document provider.
There are numerous possibilities and thank you, we are all using common abbreviations, standards that are shared all around the world: Dewey classification for example.
Unfortunately, there are limits here : anyone in our local network can “create” a new entry in the catalog. Let’s say Robert de Niro. The proper way to add him would be
$a De Niro
$b Robert