Dfx deploy locally with a new Dfx identity

Hello, i am new in IC Network, and i want to understand why I am not able to deploy locally a project if I set a new Internet Identity with Dfx identity new cmd with passphrase encryption. When I test to deploy the simple hello dapp I can deploy only if i use the default Dfx identity with no encryption or if i create one with --disable-encryption option, otherwise i am stuck at the dfx build phase like this :

$ dfx deploy
Please enter the passphrase for your identity: [hidden]
Decryption complete.
Creating a wallet canister on the local network.
The wallet canister on the ā€œlocalā€ network for user ā€œic_yangshueiā€ is ā€œrkp4c-7iaaa-aaaaa-aaaca-caiā€
Deploying all canisters.
Creating canistersā€¦
Creating canister hello_backendā€¦
hello_backend canister created with canister id: rno2w-sqaaa-aaaaa-aaacq-cai
Creating canister hello_frontendā€¦
hello_frontend canister created with canister id: renrk-eyaaa-aaaaa-aaada-cai
Building canistersā€¦
Shrink WASM module size.
Building frontendā€¦

No error message either so I wasnā€™t able to figure it out where is the issue.

2 Likes

The build step does not access your identity in any way, so would guess that the problem lies somewhere else. Since the frontend build hangs: Is there a chance you have a problem with node/npm? We generally recommend that you use Node version 16.

yea itā€™s really strange, I am using already Node 16, I try again with dfx start --clean to clean up and redeploy I still got the same issue and stuck at the building phase, however if I try to redeploy with a new identity without encryption it work fine.

I looked at the code once more, and thereā€™s really no way for the identity to influence anything once Creating a wallet appears. Can you try nuking everything generated in the project?

dfx stop
rm -r .dfx
rm -r node_modules
# if Rust:
rm -r target