Increase adoption through changes in community management

In this topic I would like to talk about some of the areas in which Dfinity’s adoption is suffering and discuss proposals to improve.

Note:

• The examples I will give are meant as examples and should be taken as broad guidelines. Please focus on the broader picture and the general direction of customer/developer relationship I am advocating for.
  • I have over 15 years of experience in the tech-strategic-marketing field and am offering this advice for free to support this project, so please don’t treat this as FUD.

So let’s get this started: Why is Dfinity’s adoption suffering and how could things be done better?

The main big issue at the moment is the way the project engages in what some might call “corporate-overpromissing-Marketing”. This is the type of marketing most companies still use, which is why it is such a great opportunity for Dfinity to set itself apart and do better.

To understand this better: Dfinity creates content from the same perspective as one would create advertisements: The content is intended to paint over the bad parts, oversells the good stuff and avoids talking about sensitive issues.

This is all good for webpage-frontpage slogans or adds, but it does not work for community management, neither for gaining trust and least of all for gaining loyal users who do the most important part: spreading the news mouth-to-mouth (or click-by-click, same thing). This type of content ends up sounding like most advertisements out there:

“look how great, amazing and trustworthy this product is, and you should believe us because we are saying so”.

People have learned to be distrustful of this type of messaging and not believe in what companies promise. At every corner people are bombarded with messages trying to sell them products that, most often then not, end up underperforming.