Conceptual questions

I am very excited about the existance of the Dfinity Foundation and spent a lot of time reading about ICs concepts. As a hobby programmer I will cerainly start learning Motoko as well and I am already a proud member of an 8 years locked neuron :grinning: I have 3 conceptual questions I would appreciate to get the team members thougts on:

1. I understand that it is almost impossible for an individual to get 51% of the voting power. However how is the project “protected” against let’s say 5-10 huge parties playing together to get a majority? My concern is that in a few years maybe some big tech companies might be scared of ICs sucess and might want to “harm” it…

2. In the neurons voting categories we find “Exchange price”: Does this mean that ICP exchange price is somehow “manipulated” or “regulated” by the protocol?

3. I read that 90% of ICP should be staked. Is this enforced by the protocol or more a “whish” on how an ideal distribution of ICP should look like? May be enforcing it through the protocol might be my first proposal neuron :blush:

Would love to hear your thoughts…

Cheers,
Andi

Hey ajerni,

1. this is a very unrealistic scenario. These big tech companies would have to buy that ICP on the market which contains far less then 51% of tokens. Even if it did buying that many tokens would massively drive up the price making it a massively costly operation. After having bought all these tokens for a gazillion dollars I don’t think the shareholders would be very happy if they immediatly burned the network to the ground.

2. No these proposals track the changes in the ICP price they don’t manipulate it. This is done to keep the conversion cost between ICP and cycles stable at 1 SDR a stable basket of currencies from IMF https://www.imf.org/en/Topics/special-drawing-right . This means that the cost of computation stays stable on the IC