Some basic questions

Hi,
I’m a curious developer who just discovered this project but I have a couple of questions. Let’s assume for simplicity that I want to build a chat app.

I understand that I can host the website/frontend on the internet computer and that the language for the backend will be motoko. From what I can see this hosting is for free? Or am I missing something here?

The data from the chat app is of course confidential from a data privacy point of view, but I understand that this would work with “private canisters”? So the data generated by the users from the chat app lands in some datacenters around the world, but in the end anyone can apply to deploy a node if they meet the technical requirements. So wouldn’t it be easy for some data center operator to access this “confidential” data or is there some cryptography magic that I missed?

I understand that the data centers receive tokens for hosting, but I guess the total number of tokens is fixed, so what if all the tokens have been distributed at some point?

Hello there,

As fas as I’ve understood, after beta phase all data in the canisters and node providers will be encrypted. So yes, the chat information will be replicated and distributed but not freely accessible.

I let more expert colleagues answer the other parts of your post :slight_smile:

Regards

1. Both front end and backend will be on IC.
  2. Backend can built in any language that can compile down to web assembly. Motoko is Dfinity’s own language that is designed specifically for the purpose. Dart (correction: rust) has the second highest support as of now, more “agents” are in the works for other languages. Same applies to front end.
  3. No they aren’t free, any form of computation, storage, etc will cost cycles that are converted from tokens.