Remove cycle dao named neuron

Can we remove them is there a proposal we can do to remove a named neuron? They are not functioning anymore and their existence is misleading people.

5 Likes

Hi cryptoisgood. Just to clarify: does it mean that the cycledao neuron has been discontinued and I should not follow it if I want to?
Thank you.

Cycle DAO wrote a post recently outlining that it will no longer be a managed neuron, and they set their following to ICP Maximalist Network.

It would be better / cleaner for the NNS to remove those following Cycle DAO since it is now effectively defunct

The question is, what happens to all of Cycle DAO’s followees? Does it get reset or does it automatically get applied to ICP Maximalist Network?

Hi all,
I am a researcher in the NNS team.

Currently there is no proposal to remove known neurons. As this came up multiple times already I think it makes sense to suggest to add this to our backlog. Since the team is working on the final stretches for SNS and there are other governance feature requests, I guess we might not get around to do that right away.

The question is, what happens to all of Cycle DAO’s followees? Does it get reset or does it automatically get applied to ICP Maximalist Network?

That is an interesting question. When adding the removal of known neurons we would have to design what we mean by this in detail.
Intuitively, I would say that a known neuron is different from other neurons only in that it can be listed as a known neuron and thus also be displayed on frontends etc. With this interpretation “removing” a known neuron would probably just mean that we remove it from the list, but that the neuron would still exist. If we don’t define anything else, this would mean that current followers of this neuron would still follow it even thought the neuron is not known anymore (as one can always also follow a neuron that is not known).

2 Likes