Quickstart First Deployment Errors on Windows

I’m having trouble getting past the quickstart local and network deployment tutorial. I am completely new at this so it could be something stupid but I can’t get anything to deploy.

I’m using a Windows computer with Ubuntu subsystem for Linux CLI. It’s my understanding that it works here too. I have installed and updated dfx, node.js, VSCode. Now here are some of the problem points.

Quickstart local development tab (got up to)
$ dfx canister create hello
returns code: 111 “tcp connect error”

Quickstart network development tab (got up to)
$ dfx deploy --network=ic
after trying to build canisters it returns httperror and does not deploy

One problem I get is when installing “brew” and going through the process, brew --version is never recognized but I thought this doesn’t matter since I have node. Has anyone had similar problems and know how to fix? Thank you.

1 Like

Check you’re using WSL version 2, as per this: https://forum.dfinity.org/t/native-windows-support/1241/2?u=ori

Also make sure you’re using two terminal windows, with dfx start left running in one of them.

1 Like

Switching to WSL version 2 got me over the hump. Didn’t realize everything that went into this but it’s working now. Thank’s Ori.

1 Like

My problem persists when trying to create canisters.
$ dfx canister create --all
“Could not reach the server”

Dfx is running in a separate cli tab. Any idea what I’m doing wrong Ori?

Try stopping and restarting the dfx start command, perhaps using the dfx start --clean flag to restore the project’s local network state to default.

No luck there. I’ve been trying those commands and restarting with no luck.

Are you seeing any errors in the dfx start terminal’s output? Has is started up correctly?