GraphQL for Bitfinity

We are in the process of porting over our project JOBGRADER onto Bitfinity. As we are using GraphQL on our other implementations and we believe that this is a de facto standard in WEB3, we are asking this forum regarding plans or implementations in Bitfinity so far regarding GraphQL.
A possible solution would be to set up a custom node from the community as described here:

What are your thoughts about this?

3 Likes

I would love to see Graph Protocol indexers built on the IC, it’s something I’ve been wanting to see for a few years now. I have a lot of experience with GraphQL on the IC having built Sudograph. I’m happy to answer questions.

3 Likes

Hi Jordan,
Great to hear from you.
I looked into Sudograph and it seems to be one part of the puzzle.
When it comes to Bitfinity there would be either the need to get in touch with the guys from GraphQL to ask them for indexing it, or Dfinity or the community set up a node for indexing. I am too new into Dfinity to tell if such an indexer could work inside a canister, but I would doubt it as the index can grow quite fast.
Have you seen this tutorial: Deploy Subgraphs to Any EVM. Using Docker, The Graph, Graph-Node and… | by Leon Do | Coinmonks | Medium
I guess if we use the RPC from the Bitfinity network, then we would be one step further.

1 Like

How much data is the indexer going to be holding?

1 Like

Graph Protocol Infrastructure Specs

Minimum Specs Recommended Specs Maxed out Specs
CPU 16 vcore 64 vcore 128+ vcore
RAM 32 GB 128 GB 256/512+ GB
Storage 300 GB SATA SSD 2 TB NVME 8+ TB NVME RAID 10

@lastmjs Important to understand is that this would be a globally usable service for the whole IC and Bitfinity ecosystem and not for a single application/project. I guess you are aware of the capabilities of GraphQL, so you sure know that this should be a top priority to get more devs into the space.

2 Likes