The Internet Computer in a world of modular blockchains

How will it adapt to this reality?

One example apart from Eth would be: https://celestia.org/ but if you check the whole thread, its far from the only one

I don’t quite get the whole “modular blockchain” thing.

Also what makes Ethereum not monolithic? Because it has rollups? The IC will soon integrate with BTC and later this year with ETH. Does that make it still monolithic? In fact, the IC is really a collection of many subnet blockchains that are governed by a single “master” NNS blockchain. Does that make it modular?

If the issue is more about validity / fraud proofs (which I think are variations of “zero knowledge proofs”), then I admit I’m not an expert at all.

Can someone explain what’s the argument for every blockchain needing zero knowledge proofs or risk becoming irrelevant? My understanding is that zk proofs provide additional security guarantees on top of BFT consensus. But they are more of a cherry on top rather than a necessity. In Ethereum’s case, I suppose they are more necessary due to the lack of consensus sharing between the Ethereum blockchain and the various rollups, so they use zk proofs to “bridge” that gap. But why does a L1 like ICP need zero knowledge proofs, if we don’t even use rollups? Chain key technology seems to work fine as is…

4 Likes

ethereum is monolithic currently, but the plan is to move away from that.

Yes. because execution still happens on layer 1(s).
You can find some more technical explanations (am not an expert) but the basic idea is optimizing layer 1 for data availability & settlement and doing execution on layer 2s.

Well you dont necessarily need zk proofs. fraud proofs (optimistic rollups) may work as well.
but zk rollups when reaching their full potential could give insane amounts of tps (in the hundreds of thousands).