Should I use HashMap or RBTree?

Hi everyone,
The Motoko language provides HashMap and RBTree. Is there a best practice on which one to use? I am just studying. I am not familiar with algorithms.

docs - HashMap

Runtime: O(1)
Space: O(1)

docs - RBTree

Runtime: O(log(n)) worst case cost per insertion, removal, and retrieval operation.
Space: O(n) for storing the entire tree. n denotes the number of key-value entries (i.e. nodes) stored in the tree.

2 Likes

Probably this one: GitHub - ZhenyaUsenko/motoko-hash-map: Stable hash maps for Motoko

In terms of performance, we have some benchmark numbers for different map structures: Collection libraries | canister-profiling

2 Likes

HashMap:

• provides most efficient O(1) insert, lookup, & deletion
  • space taken is O(n)
  • Depending on implementation every so often the hashtable underneath the map needs to double, which can result in an O(n) operation.

RBTree/BTree:

• provides O(log(n)) insert, lookup, & deletion.
  • space taken is O(n)
  • Sorts the data by key within the tree. This allows for operations like scanning between two bounds, which is powerful if one wants to paginate through entries in the data structure that depend on a sorted ordering.
2 Likes

Byron is being a bit modest here…he also wrote GitHub - canscale/StableHeapBTreeMap: A functional BTreeMap that can be used with a stable variable in heap memory which I think is a pretty solid improvement on the BTree that maintains sort order.

Byron…you need to pimp your ride. :slight_smile:

@chenyan…what is the mechanism that makes the rust maps so much more performant?

2 Likes