Rust error on pre_upgrade and post_upgrade attributes

Hi,

as seen in the screenshot copy and pasting (and a little editing) of cdk-rs/lib.rs at main · dfinity/cdk-rs · GitHub

I get a Post-upgrade function already declared error, everything works like it should but I really want to resolve this.

I tried renaming the fn pre_upgrade to fn pre_upgrade_something but it keeps the error.

What is causing the issue? (i’m new to Rust so maybe it’s just a beginner problem)

Thanks is advance

1 Like

Hi @RMCS!

Could you please clarify what you mean by that? Does the canister build when you run cargo?

My guess that it might be purely an IDE problem. I wonder if replacing #[pre_upgrade] with #[export_name = "canister_pre_upgrade"] and #[post_upgrade] with #[export_name = "canister_post_upgrade"] could help your IDE figure out what’s going on.

1 Like

:wave: @rom

What i mean by that is, that i can deploy the canister successfully and it works like it should.

When running a cargo build --verbose command, it does not build, i thought it was maybe due to running the ic crates locally or something.

i get the following error;

error: aborting due to previous error; 7 warnings emitted

error: could not compile `user_controller`

Caused by:
  process didn't exit successfully: `rustc --crate-name user_controller --edition=2018 src/backend/rust/user_controller/src/lib.rs --error-format=json --json=diagnostic-rendered-ansi --crate-type cdylib --emit=dep-info,link -C embed-bitcode=no -C debuginfo=2 -C metadata=309fc0f94d246419 --out-dir /home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/deps -C incremental=/home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/incremental -L dependency=/home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/deps --extern
ic_cdk=/home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/deps/libic_cdk-fbc39ac7a95afa8e.rlib --extern
ic_cdk_macros=/home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/deps/libic_cdk_macros-
fb910f7992f28e19.so --extern ic_types=/home/rmcs/Documents/app/target/debug/deps/libic_types-