Quick start: Info on stopping deployed canister is missing

Hi, I am just getting started with understanding to use the internet computer. My background isn’t computer science. Hence, my question may have a simple answer that I overlooked.

I was able to successfully follow and implement on my end all the instructions to host a static website - Hosting a Static Website on the Internet Computer :: Internet Computer. Towards the end of the quick-start guide, it says that we deploy our website using

dfx deploy --network ic

However, it does not say how to stop this deployed canister? My deployed canister seems to be continuously using up the cycles in my default cycle wallet for a week now. I can see the cycle count reducing in my default cycle wallet. I tried running the following to stop the canister,

dfx canister stop --all

But, it gives the following error,

An error happened during communication with the replica: error sending request for url (http://127.0.0.1:8000/api/v2/status): error trying to connect: tcp connect error: Connection refused (os error 61)

Can you please help me understand and possibly help me stop the canister?

Thanks a lot for your help.
I am excited to learn more and develop on the IC.

Aditya

1 Like

I think I partially figured out the solution.
When I executed the following command, I think it stopped the canister on IC and withdrew some cycles.

dfx canister --network ic delete --all

Clearly, it increased my cycles balance as observed when I run,

dfx wallet --network ic balance

But, the cycles balance still seems to be slowly decreasing day by day.
Can anyone explain what is happening with the cycles?
It will be beneficial to anyone starting on IC to also understand the implications to cycles when running this quick start tutorial - Hosting a Static Website on the Internet Computer :: Internet Computer.

Thank you.

Thanks for taking the time to post. I will ping team to see if anybody can take a look.