Query Api Endpoint?

I’m really confused. I am just trying to query a canister contract from my react app using rest API.

I’m following the docs here: Internet Computer Content Validation Bootstrap

But it isn’t clear how to structure my fetch request. I keep getting 400 code.

Here is how I am calling:

const fetchCanister = async () => {
    const url = 'https://nns.ic0.app/api/v2/canister/tkaa-syaaa-aaaab-aaafq-cai/query';
    const res = await fetch(url, {
        method: 'POST',
        body: {
            "request_type": "query",
            "sender": "<my principal id>",
            "ingress_expiry": 1000,
            "canister_id": "<canister principal id>",
            "method_name": "get_nervous_system_parameters",
            "arg": "()",
        }
    });

const json = await res.json()
    const result = JSON.stringify(json)
    data.set(result);
}

To be fair I am a newbie over my head here and I am positive my principal Id is wrong because I the docs say to use a self-authenticated id I have no clue how to create such a thing or where I would go to get one.

Please help or advice because I have looked everywhere and there’s no actual example of a simple fetch request query of a canister contract.

This is not a valid canister principal. The first batch of letters is only four characters long but should be five.

That’s the thing, there is no “simple fetch” request query of a canister unless the particular canister exposes such a feature. Most of the time, frontend developers use a set of library called agent-js to interact with canisters.

e.g. this isn’t a valid endpoint.

As you mention that you have not yet lots of experience on the IC, maybe I can recommend you to follow / have a look at this quick tutorial. It gives a good idea of how things work and are interconnected. Hope that helps get started.

https://internetcomputer.org/docs/current/developer-docs/quickstart/hello10mins

2 Likes