NFT standards ICRC-7 and ICRC-37 ready for NNS vote

The NFT standards ICRC-7 and ICRC-37 are now considered ready by the WG for an NNS vote. ICRC-7 is the base NFT standard, while ICRC-37 defines the approve / transfer_from functionality.

ICRC-7
ICRC-37

Before initiating the vote, we would like to give the community and WG members the opportunity to have a final look at the proposal.

19 Likes

This seems very exciting. I am not very technical but from what I am grasping is that this will allow you to be able to see transfers of nfts as well as do batch tx of nfts such as transfers and listings.

If I am wrong I am sorry haha. But thank everyone who worked hard to get this done. Super exciting for ICP nfts moving forward.

6 Likes

Long awaited indeed! Glad the migration from EXT is covered, at least partially.

Quick question: Can ICRC-3 handle NFT transaction data as it does with fungible tokens, or do we need another standard? I ask because, without a unified standard, each new project tends to reinvent the wheel, bringing its own bugs and nuances. This has been a problem for memecoins, which can’t be added to explorers like 221bravo or nftgeek due to their unique, often buggy transaction storage methods.

1 Like

ICRC-3 can handle it, both ICRC-7 and its extension ICRC-37 describe the ICRC-3 blocks that must be implemented for e.g. a transfer or transfer from.

4 Likes