Keeping user logged in between browser refreshes (or: how to stringify authClient/agent/actor)

I’m developing a React application and the login flow works great (thanks for the great examples, @kpeacock!) especially now that I’m using the pre-built development-flavor Internet Identity wasm so I don’t need to build and run II locally or enter in captchas all the time.

I’m somewhat new to frontend web development, so some things that are obvious to everyone that comes from that world aren’t obvious to me, with primarily mobile and desktop development experience. This is probably one of those instances, so please bear with me.

I now have a logged in user, but when I refresh the page, the actor, which is stored in the React context so it works across my app, gets blown and the user must go through the login process again. It seems the simplest way to persist state through browser refreshes is by using localStorage, but that requires me to be able to stringify everything I want to save.

Is there a way to stringify a logged-in authClient/agent/actor so that when it’s pulled back out of localStorage, the user is already logged in and doesn’t need to go through that flow again?

1 Like

Many frontend frameworks have stores with libraries built specifically for persisting data to local storage and rehydrating the store with that data from local storage. Here’s a library that provides the Redux equivalent of this tooling.

I thought redux-persist could only persist serializable objects. I’ll look further into it, thanks!

@mymikemiller I think what I do is call authClient.isAuthenticated() and then authClient.getIdentity() if the user is authenticated.

If you do that when you initialize everything then it should work for page refreshes too.

The docs at https://agent-js.icp.xyz should have the info on those methods.