Is my code readable by everyone?

If I write (backend) code for Dfinity, is that code necessarily readable by everyone? Or only me? (I keep seeing the word “OPEN” everywhere…?)

2 Likes

Yes, everything on chain is public.
For secret data you can use any kind of encryption that fits you.
For secret algorithms there is a “homomorphic encryption”, but this thing is tough.

3 Likes

Are you sure about this?

Any documentation on that?

My understandings is that you’ll have multiple subnets, some might be public or not.

(Data/System/Fiduciary) from the Tungsten Event

I guess the Fiduciary one will be public

System and Data might just expose the Candid interfaces but not the bytecode.

No documentation on that. Just my own speculation.
Quickly went through the Tungsten event videos on YT - I can’t find any evidence of private computation there.

I’m just an amateur, but there are some things that I can predict with a high probability.

What is a subnet? It is a subset of some nodes that are actually responsible for your canister right now. A cluster in other words.
What is a canister? It is a web assembly module + its associated linear memory.

Is it possible to execute some code (possibly very complex) and then prove to other parties that you did it correctly, without revealing the code itself? Yes, but it requires very expensive math.

Is canister’s linear memory also private? If so, how can this be achieved? Maybe we could figure out some kind of shared key encryption for subnet nodes. What about public getters? They should decrypt the memory portion and return it alongside some other type of proof - proof that this portion of data is surely contained inside the cyphertext of this canisters linear memory. But what happens if someone has like 50% of theirs canisters state covered with public getters? What kind of encryption it should be to resist an attacker that knows 50% of the cyphertext’s preimage?

For me it seems possible (in a far future), but very hard.