Dumbed down explanations of Motoko Base library parts

Hi I’m new to Motoko and starting from square one with some experience in javascript, a little python, some graphQL backend on aws, and vuejs. (started learning web dev 4 years ago). Anyway I want to learn Motoko as this interests me and wondered if there were any straight newbie content going over some of this stuff. I’ve watched Lars’ hackin the internet videos on YouTube and one or two videos on here and would love to see whatever guides people know of. Seems like the base library is a fundamental part and I would love a walkthrough of it because I see a lot of them talking about Arrays for example and I’m not clear as to which each is used for and how they relate and just how to implement some datasets. Also I need to figure out the syntax, though I think that will come as a watch others and start to get my hands dirty.

4 Likes

a great resource is our documentation which has a base library section:

you can also dig in the base library yourself, its located at ~/.cache/dfinity/versions/<your_dfx_version>/base and part of it is documented, its also open sourced here

if you are looking for videos i‘d recommend the community curated dfinity channel mission control

4 Likes

ok yeah I was looking at docs and watched the Conways game of life which I really found helpful. Ill just try and slow down and reread and rewatch some stuff and keep an eye out for new material. Thanks tho!

1 Like

oh that was you that made Conways game of life. Yeah I liked that thanks for that! Good speed and explanations. Helps clear up confusion when learning. Really appreciate that

5 Likes

means a lot to me, thank you :blush:

also feel free to ask anything, there a no dumb questions and we‘re always trying to help :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi jar, welcome. Moritz and Hans’ resources are excellent, you might also want to work through some of the tutorials on the sdk site: