Deploy canister with preset canister id

Is there a way to set the canister id to be deployed before calling dfx deploy …? so that when I do some local tests of the ledger or ckbtc, etc I can use the same canister id in my tests and mo files?
I try doing this by presetting my canister_ids.json i.e.

{
 "canister": {
    "local": "mc6ru-gyaaa-aaaar-qaaaq-cai"
  },
}

but I either get

Error: Failed while trying to deploy canisters.
Caused by: Failed while trying to deploy canisters.
  Failed while trying to install all canisters.
    Failed to install wasm module to canister 'ckbtc'.
      Failed to install wasm in canister 'mc6ru-gyaaa-aaaar-qaaaq-cai'.
        Failed to install wasm.
          The replica returned an HTTP Error: Http Error: status 404 Not Found, content type "", content: Canister mc6ru-gyaaa-aaaar-qaaaq-cai not found

or it sets the canister id in .dfx/local/canister_ids.json to a completely new canister id

2 Likes

Not sure because I am no dfx expert and no direct answer but, canister ids deployed locally are predictable in the sense that if you deploy your canisters always in the same order, you will always get the same canister ids.

So that’s what I do. I either document the order in a README.md or create a script that deploys the canisters and that way I can use the same canister id in my code for local dev.

1 Like

appreciate the input, but yea I wanted it so that if I deploy a local icp ledger or local ckbtc ledger on a test server, if I move over to mainnet I didnt want to have to go to all my mo files and change the ids. This is useful to know though.

canister ids deployed locally are predictable in the sense that if you deploy your canisters always in the same order, you will always get the same canister ids.

Albeit, for some reason for the one of my canisters I was able to actually change the canister id in .dfx/local/canister_ids.json and it worked. so yea idk

1 Like